Ever since reading novelist Barbara Kingsolver’s “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle,” an account of her family’s effort to eat only what is produced in their county for an entire year, I have been thinking about whether I could become a localvore. Could I live without orange juice and grapefruits? Easily! I hate citrus. Give up bananas? Not so easy. Give up coffee? Definitely not.
But I know that I CAN make a little more effort to buy food produced locally whenever I can. I live in a rural area, so it’s easier for me than for many people. I have a great vegetable garden in the summer. If I had a greenhouse, I could have lettuce and other cool-season crops year round and probably even tomatoes for five months. There is a producer of hothouse tomatoes about 20 minutes up the highway. There are a few producers of all-natural beef and pork near me. One is only two miles away. I’m already buying my organic, free-range eggs from a woman nearby. There’s a dairy in my town. A winery less than 5 miles from my house.
It’s not as convenient as stopping at the supermarket on the way home, and I might drive a little more, but I would be supporting local growers. I’m starting to build my map, to see what I can source nearby.
Check it out. Make your own!

